Inicio / Diplomados / Newest World Heritage Sites by UNESCO 2011

Newest World Heritage Sites by UNESCO 2011

The World Heritage Committee has added a total of 25 more sites into the UNESCO’s World Heritage List during the 35th session of UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee taking place in Paris during the 10-day meeting starting from June 19. After days of consultation and consideration, here are twelve newest World Heritage Sites added.


Archaeological sites of the Island of Meroe, Sudan

The desert picturesque landscape is situated between the Nile and Atbara rivers. It was home to the Kingdom of Kush from 8th century B.C. to the 4th century A.D. The royal city features temples, pyramids and antique buildings.


Island of Meroe, Sudan


Fagus Factory in Alfeld, Germany

The 10-building complex is the iconic symbol of modern architecture and industrial design which is situated in Alfeld on the Leine in Lower Saxony, Germany


Longobards in Italy


The Longobards consists of fortresses, churches, and monasteries


The West Lake Cultural Lanscape of Hangzhou, China

The West Lake Cultural Landscape of Hangzhou is situated in the west of Hangzhou city. The area has lake, hills and other tourist sites


Wadi Rum Protected Area, Jordan

The 74,000-hectare area is a mixed natural and cultural site in southern Jordan. The landscape includes natural arches, massive landslides and narrow gorges


Coffee cultural landscape of Colombia


The area covers six farming landscapes in Colombia which reflect the centennial tradition of coffee growing and spiritual life of people here


Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, Barbados


The Bridgetown in Barbados features old architecture of colony in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries


Saloum Delta, Senegal

The 5,000-kilometer-squared place is formed by the arms of three rivers which have supported life of human life thousands of years ago


Ogasawara Islands, Japan

The archipelago of over 30 islands is located in 1,000 kilometers south of Tokyo. These islands are home to a rich wealth of fauna


Hiraizumi, Japan

The cultural property of Hiraizumi consists of sacred Mount Kinkeisan, realm of Japan in the 11th and 12th centuries and ancient government offices from that time


Hiraizumi, Japan: Newest World Heritage Sites by UNESCO 2011


Related links:

New World Heritage Sites

New Grandiose World Heritage sites in 2010

Spectacular beauty of new natural World Heritage Sites

Paige Taylor is interested in traveling. She loves to write about beautiful destinations and tourism events

More Diplomados Articles

Latino IPTV - El Nuevo Entretenimiento

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.